Blogging from the other side of the world

I’m in San Francisco, finally. It only really hit me when the plane was landing in Frankfurt, it’s still kinda hard to believe that I’m actually here after planning it for so long! The time difference is also kinda messing with my brain.

I’m going to use this blog as my portfolio while I’m here, so people can access it through the QR Code on my business card and get to know me and my work. Right now I have no idea what should I put up here, but I think I’ll go with one of my most popular works – “Filhos da Fruta” (Children of the Fruit when you translate it literally)

It was published here @ VICE’s blog

It took two days to shoot it, and I still didn’t have enough images for it to be actually printed on the magazine, but I love it. I had an awesome time shooting it even though it was a lotta work because I did it pretty much by myself (styling, make-up, production, etc) at my college’s studio – which wasn’t the best but it served its purpose.

Ana Elisa and Paulo were super fun to work with and they got pretty comfortable with each other and the weird concept of the editorial, which made things a lot easier! It has to do with the human body and how its shape can resemble other stuff present in nature, and how they can work as a metaphor for sex and relationships, and it subtly pokes fun at your regular fashion editorial. It’s more of a visual exercise than anything really, but it looks good I guess, and that’s all that matters.

Leave a Reply

